Header Ads Widget

Responsive Advertisement

AIZWAL FC makes a Clean Sweep at ZoFooty Awards

The 4th Annual ZoFooty Awards, honoring the Best in Mizoram Football was held on the night of July 23 at Hotel Regency, Aizawl. And it comes as no surprise that all three awards namely, Player of The Year, Coach of the Year and Young Player of The Year, were won by I-League 2nd Division and Mizoram Premier League Season 3 Champions, Aizawl FC.

The awards were given based on the votes of Expert Group whose vote had a weight-age of 40%, Fans vote also had weight-age of 40% and MPL 3 clubs vote carrying 40% weight-age.

Awards and Awardees:

Player of the Year: David Lalrinmuana, Aizawl FC
Coach of the Year:  K. Malsawmkima, Aizawl FC
Young Player of the Year: Lalthakima Khawzawl, Aizawl FC

David Lalrinmuana with his Award

Player of the Year: David Lalrinmuana, Aizawl FC

David Lalrinmuana, 23 Year old Mid Fielder from Zemabawk North, who Captained Aizawl FC and played an instrumental role in making them Champion of Mizoram Premier League I-League 2nd Division. He also became the First Player to win the Player of the Year twice, as he won the same award in 2012. 

David garnered the highest votes from the jury and was quite ahead of other nominees Lalramchullova (Aizawl FC), William Lalnunfela (Aizawl FC) and new season Aizawl FC's loanee form Mizoram Police Lalbiakhlua.

Aizawl FC captain David said, "First of all, I give thanks to God who blessed me to win this award for the second time. I would also like to thank my family who always support me in my career. I would like to thank my teammates and coaching staffs from Aizawl FC and my teammates in the Mizoram team. They only made it possible for me to be here tonight. Thank you to Aizawl FC family and fans, MFA, Zonet family and all the fans who cast their vote for me. At last but not the least, I am deeply thankful to ZoFooty for this opportunity and wish them all the best fot the future." 

Coach of the Year - K.Malsawmkima 

K. Malsawmkima is from Leitan, Aizawl and he was nominated in 2013 and 2014 for this award. Before the start of the 2014-2015 season, he left MPL2 runner up Luangmual FC for Aizawl FC which turned out to be a hugely successful move. They went on to reach the Independence Day Football Tournament 2014 final but lost to Dinthar FC. But under his guidance Aizawl FC won the MPL and I League second division and Mizoram were the National Games champion. 
K.Malsawmkima, like David, received the highest vote from all the three groups - expert group, MPL clubs and the fans. H. Vanlalthlanga (former Chanmari FC coach), the new Chanmari FC coach HC Zarzoliana and Lalramchuana (Armed Veng) were far behind him.
Aizawl FC coach K. Malsawmkima said, "This award is a blessing from God. The players made it possible for me. I would like to thank Mr. Robert for trusting me to manage a great club like Aizawl FC. I would like to thank Mr. RC Khuma (L) and his wife as they were the first people who introduced me to coaching. They mde me who I am today. I would like to celebrate football that gave me so much, the reason why I am here with you."

Young Player of the Year (YPoTY) – Lalthakima Khawzawl 

The young lad from Khawzawl Vengthar (Champhai District) Lalthakima was nominated for the first time and he won the award for he had a great season. Even though he is a youngster, he got many first team opportunities and played an important role in the senior team. He became a very important Aizawl FC defender and helped them win MPL, I League second division and the National Games for Mizoram. He was called up to join the India U19 camp. 
Chanmari West FC winger Vanlalbiaa Chhangte received the highest vote from the MPL Clubs but Lalthakima got the highest vote from both the fans and as well as the Expert Group. Young Player of the Year nominees also include Aizawl FC winger Brandon VL Remdika and Chanmari FC forward K. Lalchhanhima.
Aizawl FC defender Thakima said, "First I would like to thank God for guiding us to finally have the awards (ZoFooty Awards) and to also win it. And also thank my grandparents who always support and back me up - Mr.  H. Lianzuala amd Mrs. Romawi, parents and family and Mr. Lalhriatrenga and his family who gave me accommodation here in Aizawl. Aizawl FC family, coaching staffs and the players really made it possible for me to win this award. I thank all those who vote and gave support for me. At last but not the least, I would like to thank the award organisers ZoFooty with all my heart."

Post a Comment