Header Ads Widget

Responsive Advertisement


Internet Desk | 16/12/2016

Chanmari FC defeated Bethlehem Vengthalang FC 3-0 in the Finals to win the title for the 2nd time.

Goals from Ugo, Vanlalbiaa and R. Malsawmtluanga were enough for the Chanmarians to lift the MPL Trophy that had been away from them for last two years. They came second to Aizawl FC in the previous two edition, losing out in the finals in both the occasion.

Chanmari FC made a better start and enjoyed more possession while it was BVT FC that threatened first through a set-piece with Mawitea coming close. 

Chanmari FC were denied by the woodwork when Malsawmfela struck a sweet ball past BVT goalkeeper Mala. But they were dealt with hard luck a few minutes into the game as integral attacker Fela Zote had to be taken off. Rammawia, a Bethlehem Vengthlang resident came on to take his place. 

BVT looked to strike first and came close again, as Dina Varte struck the cross bar before seeing another play from a set-pice drift just wide. But it was Chanmari FC who took the lead against the run of play when centerback Ugo rose to guide home their opener from a corner. 

From then on it was more or less one-way traffic with the pace of Chanmari FC's front line testing their opponents time and again. 

BVT would feel aggrieved after they were denied a penalty from a handball which the referee missed. And Dinpuia also missed a glorious chance to give his side an equalizer after failing to direct his shot properly. 

Chanmari FC then doubled their lead after BVT's goalkeeper Mala failed to deal with a freekick from Chanmari FC, and pacy midfielder Mabiaa needed no invitation to put the ball in the back of the net. 

Chanmari FC threatened again through Rammawia and Malsawmfela but it was R. Malsawmtluanga who made sure of the win when he struck from 25 yards in stoppage time to send the packed stadium into a frenzy.

Courtesy: Mizoram Football Association Media

Post a Comment