Header Ads Widget

Responsive Advertisement


Picture: AIFF Media

Internet Desk | 24/01/2017

All India Football Federation (AIFF), the governing body of the sport in the country today (January 24, 2017) launched the first ever Women’s Professional League which is to be contested among six Teams. 

 All matches of the two-week Indian Women’s League (IWL) will be played at Delhi’s Ambedkar Stadium with the first match scheduled for Saturday, January 28. 

Besides AIFF President Shri Praful Patel and Minister of State (I/C) Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Vijay Goel, representatives from the six Teams, as well as Ms. Sakshi Malik were present on the occasion.

 Indian Women's League Logo

Dalima Chibber (FC Pune City), Oinam Bembem Devi (ESUFC), Sasmita Malik (Rising Student FC), Sanju Yadav (FC Alakhpura), Sumithra Kamaraj (Jeppiar Institute FC) and K. Lalruaizeli (Aizawl FC) represented their respective Teams at the launch.  

Sharing his thoughts on the occasion Shri. Praful Patel, President, AIFF, said: Our women’s team is ranked 54 in the world which is higher than the men’s ranking of 129 which means that for the upcoming FIFA women’s World Cup in 2019, if we put in the right effort our Women’s team will have an outside chance of qualifying for the world cup before the men. This in itself is a huge achievement.” 

“This is a beginning for the women’s game in the country. We are starting with six teams and hope to expand it to 16 by next year. This gives our women footballers the option to take it up as a career. I wish all the teams the very best and may the best team win,” he added. 

The six participating teams -- FC Alakhpura (Haryana), Jeppiaar Institute of Technology FC (Puducherry), Aizawl FC (Mizoram), FC Pune City (Maharashtra), Rising Student Club (Odisha) and Eastern Sporting Union (Manipur) would play each other in a round-robin format with the top four teams advancing to the semifinals. 

20 Teams from across 9 states had taken part in the first leg of the qualifiers from which 9 Teams qualified for the IWL prelims which were held in Cuttack in October 2016.

Post a Comment